Fartashphoto's Blog

Atomic fact box

Posted in Uncategorized by fartashphoto on July 4, 2010

  • The terms ‘manufacture’ , ‘nuclear weapons’ or ‘other nuclear explosives’, however, are not defined. ‘Significant quantity of Nuclear Material’, however, are defined as 8 kg of plutonium and 25 kg of enriched uranium.
  • Since some of their nuclear installations are under pre-NPT safe-guards, Israel, India and Pakistan continue to be part of the non-proliferation regime; Israel is generally credited to have a sophisticated nuclear arsenal.
  • The civilian stock of plutonium is estimated to be enough for 25,000 nuclear weapons. About 1,115 mt (metric tons) of plutonium were produced in civilian power programs by the end of 1998. Most of this plutonium was produced in the industrialized countries. In February 1999, Germany had between 32 and 38 mt of separated plutonium, enough for 4000 to 4750 nuclear weapons. The Japanese Atomic Commission estimates that 80 to 85 mt of plutonium would been separated by 2010 in Japan or under commercial contracts with Britain and France. The German and Japanese plutonium is under IAEA safeguards. Britain has more than 60 mt of separated plutonium which will grow to around 110 mt by the end of the decade. France, Japan and Russia plan to burn their separated plutonium in civil nuclear reactors. Plutonium for the Russians is their ‘blood money’ because of the enormous financial and human sacrifices in producing it.
  • If a group of Iranian mullahs one day has a very long-range ballistic missile and decided that not only they but all their countrymen can go to heaven if they just launch a nuclear weapon at the ‘Great Satan’ that’s not the kind of people deterrence work against.
  • In 1957, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) was established under the mandate of the United Nations in order to encourage the development of the peaceful applications of nuclear technology, provide international safeguards against its misuse, and facilitate the application of safety measures in its use. In 1996, many nations signed and ratified the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty which prohibits all testing of nuclear weapons, which would impose a significant hindrance to their development by any complying country.
  • Since the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings, nuclear weapons have been detonated on over two thousand occasions for testing purposes and demonstration purposes. The only countries known to have detonated nuclear weapons [the United States, the Soviet Union (succeeded as a nuclear power by Russia), the United Kingdom, France, the People’s Republic of China, India, Pakistan, and North Korea. Israel]
  • India is not a signatory to the 1968 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT), which India argues entrenches the status quo of the existing nuclear weapons states whilst preventing general nuclear disarmament. India tested a nuclear device in 1974 (code-named “Smiling Buddha”), which it called a “peaceful nuclear explosive.” India performed further nuclear tests in 1998 (code-named “Operation Shakti”).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: